Consumer Directed Employer (CDE) Questions

Below you’ll find answers to our most frequently asked questions specific to the Consumer Directed Employer (CDE).

For definitions to common terms mentioned, please review our frequently asked questions glossary.

The Consumer Directed Employer (CDE) will become the legal employer of all Individual Providers (IP) in the state of Washington beginning in 2021.

As the CDE, Consumer Direct Care Network Washington (CDWA) will be responsible for payroll, background checks, collecting employment documents, credentialing, tax reporting, and employment-related instruction.

Clients will remain as the managing employer. Clients will continue to select, schedule, manage, supervise and dismiss their IPs. Current IPs will be hired by CDWA. Clients will refer selected new IPs to CDWA for hiring.

CDWA will have three office locations in Washington. We will employ Service Coordinators to provide telephone support and limited in-person support to IPs and Clients. Our offices are located in:

  • Federal Way
  • Lacey
  • Spokane

CDWA may utilize shared or community office spaces throughout the state for IP hiring, training, and other support activities as needed.

IPs will no longer have contracts. They will become employees of CDWA. Their existing contracts will end at the time the IP is hired by CDWA. Other contract types (i.e. DDA behavioral health consults or AAA home delivered meal vendors) will continue to be handled by the local offices.

Home care agencies will remain unchanged and will continue to bill through ProviderOne.

Family members can provide care to their eligible relatives with some limited restrictions.

Transition to the CDE will begin with a Pilot group of Clients and IPs. Transition activities are organized by phase, based on the Client’s county of residence. For the Pilot, approximately 200 Clients, and their associated IPs, will be selected from Lewis, Mason and Thurston counties. Pilot communications will begin 7/1/2021 with Pilot participants transitioned on 10/1/2021.

Phase 1 will include remaining Clients and their associated IPs in Lewis, Mason, and Thurston counties, and all Clients and their associated IPs in Ferry, Island, Kitsap, Pend Oreille, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Spokane, Stevens, Whatcom, and Whitman counties. Phase 1 communications will begin 11/1/2021 with Phase 1 participants transitioned on 2/1/2022.

Phase 2 will include all Clients and their associated IPs in Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Clallam, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Douglas, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, King, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanagan, Pacific, Skamania, Snohomish, Wahkiakam, Walla Walla, and Yakima counties. Phase 2 will also include all Clients and their associated IPs in the Colville Tribe and the Yakama Nation. Phase 2 communications will begin 1/1/2022 with Phase 2 participants transitioned on 4/1/2022.